What I Eat

Cancer Killers

Cancer Killers!

I have always been a careful eater. I love my junk food from time to time, don’t get me wrong, but for most of my life I have always tried, at least, to maintain a diet that scales more toward healthy than not. Having a wife from Japan who can easily prepare creative meals that are both delicious and good for me makes it all the easier to eat healthily, especially since she often prepares Japanese meals and Japanese meals are more often than not very healthy.

But what I have learned since my diagnosis with leukemia, is that a cancer diet is more than just eating healthy foods. According to some, a true cancer diet is not just having to eat foods that prevent and fight cancer, it is also having to eliminate foods that one would never suspect, like most fruits. I’m no expert here, and to be honest, I haven’t put much thought or study into my cancer treatment or my cancer diet (in fact, this might be a good time for you to read my Disclaimer page if you already haven’t), but I have received many cancer diet books as gifts this past year, and from reading them and researching online, my wife and my children have become near experts in what one should and shouldn’t eat to prevent and to fight cancer.

I know when some people survive a life-threatening disease or injury, they have a tendency to get religion, so to speak. And from talking with other folks who have survived cancer, it seems that often their religion becomes a strict adherence to a strict diet. That’s not me, for better or for worse. If I’m going to live, which I plan on doing for a long time, I still want to enjoy the things that I have always enjoyed in life…but perhaps not so much or so often. I will eat my fast food and a bag of Doritos from time to time, but mostly I will try to eat meals like the ones that will be profiled on the new What I Eat page. Some will be meals specific for preventing and fighting cancer, others will be just plain healthy and yummy.

A little on process: I’m not a foodie and I don’t plan on ever being one so please don’t expect nicely laid out shots and presentations of the meals. I will use my blackberry for a camera and that will be about as good as it gets for picture quality. Sorry about that. I will post pictures of a meals that I have eaten recently and will provide a brief background on the dishes. So, if my slipshod way of going about things doesn’t turn you off and if you’re still interested, please check out the new page by clicking on the What I Eat tab at the top of the blog. Let me know what you think, and if you have any of your own ideas for meals that prevent and fight cancer, please leave me your feedback and recipes in the comments section at the bottom of the page. Maybe my wife will prepare them. If she does, I’ll post a picture of the meal and provide a brief commentary (a commentary, not a critique, because anything friends share with me will be good regardless!)

Enjoy!

3 responses to “What I Eat

  1. What a great idea! Looking forward to seeing this progress.

    • Thanks Kir. You are definitely an inspiration behind this with all of your research and yummy meals you have made for me. I wish I would have taken pictures of them. Love you.

      • I just realized that the links to the new page inside the post weren’t working. You probably already figured this out but to visit the new page, you have to click on the “What I Eat” tab at the top of the blog.

Leave a comment